Skip to main content


AICPA Presents Two Awards for Distinguished Service

G. Edgar “Eddie” Adkins Jr., CPA, was presented the Arthur J. Dixon Award and Mary Kay Foss, CPA, received the Jonathan Horn Distinguished Service Award.

The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) recognized two prominent CPAs during this week’s 2022 National Tax & Sophisticated Tax Conference and Fall Tax Division Meetings. G. Edgar “Eddie” Adkins Jr., CPA, was presented the Arthur J. Dixon Award and Mary Kay Foss, CPA, received the Jonathan Horn Distinguished Service Award. These recipients have stood apart from their peers throughout their careers and contributed valuable expertise to further strengthen the profession.

G. Edgar “Eddie” Adkins Jr., CPA — Arthur J. Dixon Award

“It is my honor and pleasure to present Eddie Adkins Jr., CPA, with the Arthur J. Dixon Award,” said Jan Lewis, chair of the AICPA Tax Executive Committee and Tax Partner with Haddox Reid Eubank Betts, PLLC. “For more than 20 years, Eddie has served as an expert and is always willing to share his knowledge and experience, which greatly benefits the AICPA and its members. He has served as an instructor to thousands, a mentor to many and as an adviser to countless clients over the years.”

Adkins is a retired partner in the national tax office of Grant Thornton LLP in Washington, DC, where his areas of expertise included tracking regulatory and legislative developments related to compensation and employee benefits. He has served on committees, task forces and Technical Resource Panels (TRP) within AICPA’s tax division, remembered in particular for his work on the Affordable Care Act. Recently, he chaired the Health Care Task Force from 2016–2018.  

Mary Kay Foss, CPA — 2021–22 AICPA Jonathan Horn Distinguished Service Award

“Mary Kay was an incredibly active member of the AICPA Tax Division this year and has gone above and beyond what most other active members do,” Jan Lewis said. “She served on not one, but two separate TRPs, giving her time and expertise to help our efforts.”

Mary Kay Foss is an individual practitioner specializing in complex trusts and individual tax planning. She is a member of AICPA’s Tax Division, as well as the AICPA Individual and Self-Employed Tax (ISET) and Trust, Estate and Gift Tax TRPs. This year, she took on a very active role as one of the primary drafters of AICPA’s comments to the IRS on the trust and estate issues of the SECURE Act Required Minimum Distribution (RMD) proposed regulations. Foss also assisted with the AICPA ENGAGE Advanced Estate Planning Conference Planning Committee, helping to plan the conference and serving as a speaker and moderator. She has worked with AICPA External Relations staff to serve as a spokesperson, responding to multiple media inquiries while, at the state society level, she has written articles and drafted and taught CPE classes for the California CPA Society.

“AICPA and the accounting profession thank Mary Kay and Eddie for their tireless efforts in assisting the profession in many different areas,” said Edward S. Karl, CPA, CGMA, AICPA vice president of Tax Policy & Advocacy. “Their guidance and support make it possible for the AICPA to have valuable and productive relationships with Treasury, the IRS, members of Congress and other important stakeholders. Eddie and Mary Kay have also had an instrumental role in providing meaningful support to state CPA societies, accounting students and AICPA staff.”

The Arthur J. Dixon Award is the highest award given by the accounting profession in the area of taxes. It is given to the CPA who demonstrates true professionalism in the spirit of Arthur Dixon. Dixon was a recognized leader in the profession, serving on various state society and AICPA committees, with a long record of service to the Tax Division, culminating in his chairmanship of the Tax Executive Committee from 1977–80. Following his passing in 1981, the Tax Executive Committee established the Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award in his honor.

The Jonathan Horn Tax Division Distinguished Service Award recognizes outstanding current contribution to the AICPA Tax Division. Recipients have made a substantial contribution to the Tax Division’s work product through notable, extraordinary personal effort, and are nominated by members of the AICPA Tax Executive Committee. The Distinguished Service Award’s name was recently changed to posthumously recognize and thank Jonathan Horn, CPA, a former TRP volunteer, AICPA staff member and past recipient of this award.