Skip to main content

Firm Management

Professionals on the Move – May 16, 2016

A roundup of professionals in the tax and accounting profession that have changed jobs and/or been promoted.

RISCPA Awards Local Director with Chairman’s Award
CBIZ Tofias and Mayer Hoffman McCann P.C. recently announced that Grafton “Cap” Willey, CPA, Managing Director in the Tax Group was honored with the 2016 Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants Chairman’s Award. Willey was recognized for his advocacy efforts through his role on RISCPA’s Government Relations Committee. He has more than 30 years of tax and consultancy experience working with privately-held business owners. Willey, an advocate for small business issues, was has also been selected as the Rhode Island Small Business Accounting Advocate of the Year and the New England Small Business Accounting Advocate of the Year by the National Small Business Association.  

Dworken, Hillman, LaMorte and Sterczala, P.C. Hires New Staff
Dworken, Hillman, LaMorte and Sterczala, P.C. recently announced the following additions to its staff: Diana Teixeira as a manager in the tax department and Hanh Trinh as a staff member in the tax department; and the following promotions: Nicholas L. Valli, CPA to supervisor in the accounting and auditing department; Rob W. Vieira to senior accountant in the tax department; and Samantha Kijonka, CPA to senior accountant in the accounting and auditing department. 

The Bonadio Group Names Firm-Wide Tax Practice Leader
The Bonadio Group recently named named Thomas Bruckel, CPA as the firm’s tax practice leader and team leader for The Bonadio Group’s tax team in Rochester. Bruckel has worked with various clients in the areas of tax planning, domestic and foreign mergers and acquisitions, tax due diligence, compensation planning, R&D credits, and entity structuring and restructuring. His expertise includes international and multi-state tax issues. 

Morris Publishing Group Names New CFO 
Morris Publishing Group recently announced that Delinda Fogel, CPA.CITP, CGMA was promoted to CFO. Fogel has 25 years of experience in the media industry, where she has held several controller and positions and served as a vice president of finance and strategic planning. Fogel received her BBA in Accounting from the University of Louisiana at Monroe.  

The Ohio Society of CPAs Unveils New Brand,Names New Executive Board, Honors Members
The Ohio Society of CPAs announced a new mission and brand, named a new Executive Board and honored several members at its Annual Meeting and Business Excellence Symposium. The new tagline is “Advancing the State of Business” and reflects the society’s goal to elevate the CPA profession, by serving as a hub of business, knowledge, learning, advocacy and community for CPAs and accounting professionals in Ohio. 

Members of the 2016-2107 OSCPA Executive Board includes: 

  • Chair: William (Bill) Chorba III, CPA, CGMA (CFO, NineSigma Inc.) 
  • Chair-Elect: Sandra Richtermeyer, CPA, CMA, Ph.D. (Associate Dean, Williams College of Business, Xavier University) 
  • Immediate Past Chair: Thomas Zaino, JD, CPA (Managing Member, Zaino Hall & Farrin LLC) 
  • Vice Chair, Finance: Robert Bosak, CPA (Chief Financial Officer, Kaplan Trucking Company) 
  • Member: Timothy Michaels, CPA (Owner, TimeLess Consulting LLC) 
  • Member: Owen Wyss, CPA (Financial Controller, Thompson Concrete Foundations, Ltd.) 
  • Member: Michael Elliott, CPA (Principal, DittrickCPA) 
  • Member: Darlene Finzer, CPA, QKA, CSA (Principal, Rea & Associates, Inc.) 

Additionally, Bob Fay, CPA was awarded the Gold Medal for Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession for his leadership and contributions to the accounting profession; Heidi Hylton Meier, DBA, CPA received the Outstanding Ohio Accounting Educator award for her continued efforts to advance student learning; and Kristine Parsons, Ph.D. was honored with the Outstanding Contributor Award. 

Fay has more than 20 years of volunteer experience and is the past president of the OSCPA’s former Akron/Canton chapter. He has served as an Executive Board member and is currently a trustee of the Ohio CPA Foundation. 

Hylton Meier is the chair of the accounting department at Cleveland State University and currently serves on the Board of Governors of the Northeast Ohio Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors. 

Parsons is chair of the accounting and information systems departments at Ashland University and serves on the Board of Regents for the Institute of Certified Management Accountants. 

NSBN LLP Announces Merger with Bay Sherman & Craig, LLP
NSBN LLP, CPAs & ADVISORS recently announced that Bay Sherman & Craig, LLP has joined the firm and the combined firms will operate as NSBN LLP. Michael B. Sherman, CPA, Peter M. Craig, CPA, Joseph B. Burton, CPA, JD and Harold W. Jaffe, CPA, have joined NSBN as partners, and Sharon C. McCauley, CPA has joined NSBN as a senior manager.