Skip to main content

Accounting & Audit

BYU Professors and KPMG Practitioners Honored for Education

Distinguished professors recognized for leading edge research and innovative teaching methods


Accounting professors Steve Glover and Doug Prawitt, from Brigham Young University’s School of Accountancy and Sam Ranzilla, Rob Chevalier, and George Herrmann from KPMG LLP received the 2013 Wildman Medal earlier this month at the American Accounting Association (AAA) annual meeting in Anaheim, California. 

Sponsored by the Deloitte Foundation, the awardees were recognized for their monograph entitled “Elevating Professional Judgment in Auditing and Accounting: The KPMG Professional Judgment Framework.” 

“The Wildman Medal recognizes educators, and, in this case, a collaboration between academia and practice, for their leading edge research and unwavering commitment to advancing the theory and practice of accounting. This work is important to the growth of our profession and its practitioners,” said Shaun Budnik, partner, Deloitte LLP and president of the Deloitte Foundation. “We congratulate this year’s recipients of the Wildman Medal and the ATA Teaching Award, as their work exemplifies the innovative thinking and teaching necessary to train the profession’s next generation of talent.”

The Wildman Medal is named in honor of the late John R. Wildman, a partner of a Deloitte predecessor firm, a professor of accounting at New York University and the first president of the American Association of Accounting Instructors, which later became the AAA. In addition to receiving the Wildman Medal, each academic recipient received a $2,500 honorarium.

The American Taxation Association (ATA) Teaching Innovation Award was also presented during the AAA annual meeting at the ATA luncheon.  This year, professors G. Ryan Huston and Janet M. Huston from the University of South Florida were honored for their submission titled “Life’s Two Certainties: An Estate and Gift Taxation Case.” 

Established in 1994, the ATA Teaching Innovation Award is presented annually to tax professors whose innovative teaching techniques encourage critical thinking and enhance the overall learning experience.  Both professors were each presented a $2,500 award.