Skip to main content


State CPA Society News & Updates: Feb. 2024

State CPA Society News & Updates is a selection of recent announcements and initiatives by CPA associations in the United States and its territories.

State CPA Society News & Updates is a selection of recent announcements and initiatives by CPA associations in the United States and its territories.

The Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants (ARCPA)  announced the 2024 ARCPA Student Education Fund Golf Tournament, which will take place on Monday, May 20, 2024 at the Maumelle Country Club. All net proceeds from the tournament will be used to fund scholarships to college and university accounting students in Arkansas.

Those interested in participating in the tournament as a player or as a sponsor can sign up here.

TheConnecticut Society of CPAs (CTCPA) recently announced the 2024 CTCPA Women’s Awards winners, which celebrate Connecticut’s female finance professionals.

Distinguished Service Award Winners:

  • Melissa S. Beeler, CPA – Deloitte Tax, LLP
  • Mary Kay Curtiss, MSPA, CPA – CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
  • Stacy R. Farber, CPA – UHY LLP
  • Teresa J. Opalacz, CPA – Guilmartin, DiPiro & Sokolowski LLC
  • Jennifer J. Schempp, CPA – Beers, Hamerman, Cohen & Burger, PC

Women to Watch Winners

  • Rebecca W. Lyman, CPA –  CohnReznick
  • Amber Moore, CPA – Goldblatt Bokoff LLC
  • Katherine M. Patnaude, CPA, MSA- PKF O’Connor Davies
  • Lindsay Tessler, CPA – Whittlesey PC

Aspiring CPA Winners

  • Marissa Bartone – Ernst & Young
  • Bridgette Eguizabal – Kaman Corporation
  • Emily Kindle – Whittlesey PC
  • Mariam Noorzad – Ernst & Young
  • Christina Roy – Fiondella, Milone & LaSaracina

TheFlorida Institute of Certified Public Accountants (FICPA) is looking for speakers for its MEGA Conference, set for June 11-13 at Universal Orlando’s Loews Sapphire Falls resort. They are seeking proposals focused on accounting and auditing, emerging issues, firm optimization and transformation, personal development, and more. Those interested can complete this form.

The Idaho Society of Certified Public Accountants (IDCPA) is offering What Tax Practitioners Need to Know About Medicare. This online webinar will take place on March 15, 2024 from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm MT and covers topics such as:

  • Medicare eligibility
  • How to apply for Medicare
  • Late enrollment penalties
  • Information on Medicare surtax
  • The Affordable Care Act’s impact on Medicare

The member fee for the webinar is $95, with a nonmember fee of $100. Those interested can register here.

TheIllinois CPA Society (ICPAS) recently announced the Mary T. Washington Wylie  Internship Preparation Program Scholars, The 2024 scholars are:

NameAcademic Institution 
Abigail AdjeiDePaul University 
Kevin AkinsAugustana College 
Anne AkpabioMidwestern State University 
Taylor BelloUniversity of Illinois Chicago 
Nicholas CamachoAugustana College 
Leslye CarrascoUniversity of Illinois Chicago 
Cherrell CobbinsDePaul University 
Gregory CollinsGovernors State University 
Luis CorralRichard J. Daley College 
Clarissa CortinaMorton College 
Alfred DzakpasuSouthern Illinois University 
Dasjha EguasaNorthern Illinois University 
Emma FaglaAugustana College 
Karen Fonseca MunozUniversity of St. Francis 
Bryan GrimaldoAurora University 
Richea HaygoodOlive Harvey College 
Andrea HernandezLewis University 
Abdurrahman IbrahimDePaul University 
Malak JellouliCollege of DuPage 
Milca JimenezLewis University 
Maryam KhanCollege of DuPage 
Solyana KifleAugustana College 
Nadya MahoneyUniversity of Illinois Chicago 
Bemnet MelesseAugustana College 
Christopher MunozLoyola University Chicago 
Jasmine NevarezArrupe College of Loyola University Chicago      
Ali NeziriCollege of DuPage 
Ethan OrangeDominican University 
Erik OrtegaUniversity of Illinois 
Jerome PhillipsUniversity of Illinois 
Martha Pierre-LouisLoyola University Chicago 
Sandra Pinzon Velazquez     Morton College 
Rafael RamirezAugustana College 
Desire SebakaraUniversity of Illinois Chicago 
Chakyra SpaceChicago State University 
Tiara SpikenerAurora University 
Isiah TalleyUniversity of Illinois Chicago 
Delanee TelfordUniversity of Illinois 
Jerrly VarugheseUniversity of St. Francis 
Guadalupe ViramontesSaint Xavier University 
Atanda WilliamsGovernors State University