Skip to main content


AICPA Honors 3 Tax Experts with Dixon and Horn Awards

These recipients have stood apart from their peers throughout their careers and contributed valuable expertise to further strengthen the profession.

The American Institute of CPAs recently recognized three prominent Tax Division members during the 2023 AICPA & CIMA National Tax & Sophisticated Tax Conference and Fall Tax Division Meetings. Michael P. Dolan, JD, and Edward S. Karl, CPA were presented respectively with the Arthur J. Dixon Award and Brian D. Myers, CPA, received the Jonathan Horn Distinguished Service Award. These recipients have stood apart from their peers throughout their careers and contributed valuable expertise to further strengthen the profession.

Michael P. Dolan, JD and Edward S. Karl, CPA – 2023 Arthur J. Dixon Award

Michael P. Dolan, JD, was presented with the Arthur J. Dixon Award. He is retired from KPMG LLP’s Washington National Tax – Practice, Procedure & Administration group where he previously served as the National Director of IRS Policies and Dispute Resolution. Prior to joining KPMG, he served as IRS deputy commissioner and served as acting IRS commissioner. Dolan served as chair and member of the IRS Practice and Procedures Committee for many years, and as a member of the E-Signatures Task Force. Dolan has contributed to the AICPA Tax Division for over 21 years, where he has provided advice, guidance, and leadership to AICPA’s many efforts liaising with the IRS. He has also made valuable contributions to the administration of the tax system as a result of his years working within the IRS.

Edward S. Karl, CPA was also the recipient of the Arthur J. Dixon Award this year. He is the retired vice president of Tax Policy & Advocacy at AICPA. Karl held various positions with the AICPA for close to 40 years and served as the staff liaison for multiple committees, task forces and technical resource panels during that time. He served for seven years as a member of the AICPA Personal Financial Planning Services Standards Review Task Force and was extremely involved as an observer on the Circular 230 Revision Task Force and on the Statements on Standards for Tax Services Revision Task Force. He is one of the most well-known experts on tax ethical standards as he has been instrumental in their development and updates over the years. He is being recognized for his non-stop devotion and efforts with the many tax policy and advocacy positions that the AICPA Tax Executive Committee has approved and submitted to Congress, the Treasury Department, and IRS over the last four decades of his involvement. He has kept many CPAs informed of tax developments through his numerous presentations, updates and his many AICPA Insights blogs as well.  

“It is my honor and pleasure to present both Michael Dolan, CPA and Edward Karl, CPA with the Arthur J. Dixon Award,” said Blake Vickers, chair of the AICPA Tax Executive Committee and global head of tax at Alamo Group Inc. “Mike and Ed have consistently shared their knowledge, expertise and leadership in the area of tax, benefitting the AICPA and its members, as well as the tax community and tax system.”

The Arthur J. Dixon Award is the highest award given by the accounting profession in the area of tax. It is given to a CPA who demonstrates true professionalism in the spirit of Arthur Dixon. Dixon was a recognized leader in the profession, serving on various state society and AICPA committees, with a long record of service to the Tax Division, culminating in his chairmanship of the Tax Executive Committee from 1977–80. Following his passing in 1981, the Tax Executive Committee established the Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award in his honor.

Brian D. Myers – 2023 AICPA Jonathan Horn Distinguished Service Award

Brian D. Myers, CPA, a partner at Crowe LLP, was awarded the Jonathan Horn Tax Division Distinguished Service Award to recognize his above and beyond efforts and contributions this past year to the AICPA Tax Division. Myers served as a member of the AICPA’s State and Local Taxation Technical Resource Panel (SALT TRP) and the Tax Division’s SALT Deduction Pass-Through Entity Tax (PTET) Task Force.

Myers is being recognized for the immense time and effort he put in this past year on behalf of the AICPA and profession, including developing and updating multiple resources for AICPA members and state CPA societies, serving as the liaison between the TRP and other state tax organizations, and his analysis of proposed PTET legislation. Myers also presented two sessions at the 2022 National Tax and Sophisticated Tax conference.

“Brian is one of our most involved members,” said Mo Bell-Jacobs, chair of the AICPA SALT TRP. “In addition to his work on behalf of the TRP, state CPA society assistance, and resource development and updates on the 36 states that have enacted PTETs since TCJA, he also volunteered his time and expertise on state partnership audits issues. Brian has provided ongoing and dependable assistance in developing and updating AICPA state tax resources and advocacy assistance on urgent, pending legislative issues, making himself available to help whenever and wherever needed.”

The Jonathan Horn Tax Division Distinguished Service Award is bestowed for outstanding current contribution to the AICPA Tax Division for the past committee year. Recipients have made a substantial contribution to the Tax Division’s work product through notable, extraordinary personal effort, and are awarded this honor by the AICPA Tax Executive Committee. The Tax Division Distinguished Service Award’s name was recently changed to posthumously recognize and thank Jonathan Horn, CPA, a former TRP volunteer, AICPA staff member, and past recipient of this award.