Skip to main content


Illinois CPA Society Announces 2023 Outstanding Leadership Award Recipients

The ICPAs annual Outstanding Leadership Awards program celebrates distinguished leaders within the CPA community through a variety of prestigious awards.

The Illinois CPA Society (ICPAS)—one of the largest state CPA societies in the nation—has announced the honorees of its annual Outstanding Leadership Awards program, which celebrates distinguished leaders within the CPA community through a variety of prestigious awards.

“It’s such a privilege for us to be able to honor those who have gone above and beyond in their service to our organization and the accounting profession,” says Geoffrey Brown, CAE, ICPAS president and CEO. “These remarkable professionals truly embrace our mission of ‘enhancing the value of the CPA profession.’ Their achievements—and the positive change and contributions they help bring to us, their organizations, and their communities—are inspiring and illustrate in so many ways that CPAs are invaluable. Congratulations to all our award recipients.”

ICPAS will formally present awards to the following honorees at the Leadership Recognition & Awards Dinner in Chicago this June:

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed on a member who has demonstrated distinguished service to ICPAS and the accounting profession.

  • Daniel F. Rahill III, CPA/PFS, JD, LL.M., CGMA | Wealth Strategist, Wintrust Wealth Management 

Women to Watch Awards

Women to Watch Awards are presented in two categories—Experienced Leader and Emerging Leader—to recognize women who have made significant contributions to the accounting profession, their organizations, and to the development of women as leaders.

Experienced Leader

  • Beth A. Mueller, CPA | Partner, Deloitte Tax LLP
  • Melissa E. Struck, CPA | Principal, CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

Emerging Leader

  • Starletta Forson, CPA | Senior Tax Consultant, Deloitte LLP 

Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards

Presented in two categories—Outstanding Leader and Emerging Leader—Lester H. McKeever Jr. Advancing Diversity Awards recognize individuals who are committed to advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in the accounting profession. 

Outstanding Leader

  • Kimi L. Ellen, CPA | Co-Founding Partner, Benford Brown & Associates LLC 

Emerging Leader

  • LaToya C. McKinney, CPA, MSAA | Senior Business Process & Control Analyst, Abbott 

Outstanding Educator Awards

Awarded to educators at Illinois colleges and universities, the Outstanding Educator Award honors those who have made considerable contributions to the education of accounting students through their leadership, teaching excellence, and active involvement in the accounting profession.

  • Emily G. Jurgens, CPA | Assistant Professor, Harold Washington College
  • Madeline K. Trimble, Ph.D. | Director of Graduate Accounting Programs and Associate Professor, Illinois State University

Young Professionals Leadership Award

The Young Professionals Leadership Award recognizes a young professional who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills in his or her career, in public or community service, and through involvement in professional organizations.

  • Kiara R. Schuh, CPA | Senior Consultant, Deloitte LLP 

Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award

The Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award honors an organization for its outstanding service and commitment to the Illinois CPA Society’s CPAs for the Public Interest volunteer initiatives.

  • PKF Mueller

Distinguished Service Awards

The Distinguished Service Award is bestowed on ICPAS members who display a commitment to excellence by taking on extra challenges and responsibilities in their volunteer service roles.

  • Robert J. Fiedler Sr., CPA – Robert J. Fiedler, CPA | Chicago South Chapter
  • Richard F. Gaul, CPA – RSM US LLP | Governmental Report and Review Committee
  • Jody A. Gauthier, CPA – FORVIS LLP | Not-for-Profit Organizations Committee
  • Geoffrey J. Harlow, CPA – Wipfli LLP (Retired) | CEO Search Committee and Media Expert
  • William C. Keirse, CPA – Ernst & Young LLP | Accounting Principles Committee
  • Genevra D. Knight, CPA – Porte Brown LLC | Audit and Assurance Committee
  • Daniel R. Lisella, CPA – BDO USA LLP | Accounting Principles Committee
  • Gregory J. Pierce, CPA – DeMarco, Sciacotta, Wilkens & Dunleavy LLP | Peer Review Report Acceptance Committee
  • Amber Sarb, CPA – RSM US LLP | Audit and Assurance Committee
  • Dean R. Snider, CPA – Snider McCree CPAs LLC | Governmental Report and Review Committee

The award winners list and their photographs can be viewed here [].