Skip to main content


AICPA Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients for 2022-2023

The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) Foundation awarded more than $1 million in scholarships, grants and fellowships to students for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) Foundation awarded more than $1 million in scholarships, grants and fellowships to students for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The AICPA Foundation was established in 1922 to advance the science of accountancy and accounting education. Over the past 100 years, the Foundation has remained committed to supporting the next generation of CPAs through: accounting education and outreach, scholarships and fellowships, and diversity and inclusion.

“In this year of our 100th anniversary, we celebrate what we have accomplished and look forward to continuing to grow and support the next generation of CPAs,” said Tracey Golden, CPA, CGMA, President, AICPA Foundation Board of Trustees.

The AICPA Foundation’s scholarship program offers educational funding for accounting students at all stages—from high school seniors to CPAs pursuing their Ph.D.

This year, the AICPA awarded $764,500 in academic scholarships to 155 students through the AICPA Legacy Scholars Program, which consists of five distinct scholarships:

The complete list of 2022-23 recipients can be found at

The AICPA Foundation also granted fellowships to 23 minority doctoral students as part of the AICPA Fellowship for Minority Doctoral Students, which aims to bolster racial and ethnic diversity and inclusiveness among accounting educators at colleges and universities.

The fellowship program provides $12,000 to each student, renewable for up to an additional four years, assuming students continue to meet eligibility requirements.

“The AICPA is committed to building a more diverse, equitable and inclusive accounting profession,” said Mike Decker, VP of CPA Examination and Pipeline at the AICPA. “Having more CPAs in the classroom is an important component of building diversity, and we look forward to seeing these scholars progress through their doctoral programs and ultimately help educate future generations of CPAs.”

The 2022-23 Minority Doctoral Fellowship recipients, as well as the doctoral programs they are attending, are:

  • Asabe Adama Mairama Danpollo, Cornell University
  • Paige Gwenise Harrell, Emory University
  • Vanessa Vandamas, Florida International University
  • Moniquca (Nikki) Chappell, Florida State University
  • Brittani Shantel Jackson, Indiana University
  • Mary Ahonsi, Texas Tech University
  • Allison Carter, Texas Tech University
  • Jeremy Richardson, Texas Tech University
  • Mary Adebukola Adenle, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Roberto Gonzales, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Jewel Onyx Evans, University of Chicago
  • Vernan Orlando Rivera, University of Connecticut
  • Isabel Ford, University of Florida
  • Jessica Thornton, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Isaac Lord Yamoah, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Monica Kabutey, University of North Texas
  • Timothy (Tim) Edward Messenger, University of Oregon
  • Raul Villamil-Otero, University of South Florida
  • Jose (Nico) Nicolas Arguello, University of Tennessee – Knoxville
  • Triza Nganga, University of Texas – Arlington
  • Christiana Antwi-Obimpeh, University of Texas – San Antonio
  • Devon Privette Jefferson, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Tendai Masaya, Yale University

For more information about the AICPA Foundation and the support it provides to accounting students, view the Foundation’s annual report.