Illinois CPA Society Awards College Scholarships

Twenty-three accounting students at various colleges and universities in Illinois received accounting scholarships from the Illinois CPA Society. The scholarships totaled $47,000 and were awarded to students in both undergraduate and graduate-level programs maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average. All recipients plan on obtaining their CPA license, as evidenced by their chosen courses of study.

The CPA Endowment Fund of Illinois, a charitable organization aimed at supporting accounting students and future CPAs, funds the Illinois CPA Society Accounting Scholarship Program. The program also provides students with various opportunities for professional development, networking and job shadowing.

"Congratulations to the scholarship recipients," said Elaine Weiss, President and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society. "These students represent the continuing strength of the pipeline and can contribute much to growing our profession while facing new challenges."

Recipients of the scholarship for the 2012-13 academic year are:

  • Andrew Barnes, Edwardsville, IL - Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
  • Angelina Bornok, Aurora, IL - DePaul University
  • Brittany Bowers, South Elgin, IL - Augustana College
  • Anna Budzikowska, Chicago, IL - DePaul University
  • Regina Chase-Smith, Sycamore, IL - Northern Illinois University
  • Lindsey Collins, Roselle, IL - University of Illinois
  • Jennifer Ellison, Palos Heights, IL - University of Illinois
  • Mohammed Farooq, Skokie, IL - DePaul University
  • Brian Forsberg, Naperville, IL - University of Illinois
  • William Horton, Lexington, IL - University of Illinois
  • Emily Ioerger, Metamora, IL - Bradley University
  • George Martinez, Chicago, IL - University of Illinois
  • Bethany Noller, Pawnee, IL - Eastern Illinois University
  • Billeka Palmer, Chicago, IL - Roosevelt University
  • Greg Patton, Bloomington, IL - Augustana College
  • Mile Petkovic, Wheaton, IL - Northern Illinois University
  • Jonathan Schroeder, Lake Villa, IL - Northern Illinois University
  • Jessica Smith, Chicago, IL - DePaul University
  • Stephen Vercellino, Mulkeytown, IL - Southern Illinois University
  • Amy Vrtis, Ottawa, IL - Lewis University
  • Emilia Waszkielewicz, Chicago, IL - DePaul University
  • Bradley Winkler, La Grange Park, IL - Monmouth College
  • Run Jin You, Dekalb, IL - Northern Illinois University