Skip to main content

Greg O’Brien, CPA, CTS – 2023 “40 Under 40” Honoree

Greg O’Brien, CPA, CTS – 2023 “40 Under 40” Honoree

Anomaly CPA

Career Highlights

Greg started Anomaly CPA in the Fall of 2018 with a vision to scale a fully remote firm working with the most innovative businesses and high growth entrepreneurs.  Over the past 5 years, Greg along with Co-CEO John Malone has helped scale the firm nationally with a team of over 30 talented accounting professionals.  Anomaly is a 100% subscription based firm that looks to work with fast paced, growing digital businesses and entrepreneurs, wherever they may be.  Greg is very active within PASBA and other accounting communities where he enjoys working with & mentoring new firm owners looking to quickly scale.  

Greg’s vision and growth helped Anomaly achieve the #1186 ranking on Inc 5000 Fastest Growing Companies of 2023.

  • 2022 CPA Practice Advisor 40U40 Award Winner
  • 2023 Certified Tax Planner of the Year – AICTC
  • 2022 Best Firms for Technology Award – AccountingToday
  • 2021 Concierge Accounting Firm of the Year 
  • 2020 National Finalist – Tax Planner of the Year from AICTC

What are you doing to make a difference in the profession, your community, the world?

Greg enjoys joining various online accounting communities to assist other firm owners with implementing non-traditional and unique practices to help steer the profession towards technology and new aged, subscription based business models.  Greg also enjoys teaching other firm owners about different and sometimes nontraditional marketing techniques to help maximize their reach and impact.  

With a belief that being the “Anomaly” is the goal, Greg along with his Co-CEO, John Malone, look to stand out with a tech forward, unique approach and vision that is shared by all team members, wherever they may be. 

Outside of the firm, Greg enjoys helping coach entrepreneurs in any industry with business planning, mentorship and “thinking big.”  

See all of the 2023 “40 Under 40” and “20 Under 40” honorees.