Accounting Thought Leaders Gather in Tampa

 The most notable thought leaders in the accounting profession have gathered at the Westin Harbour Island hotel in Tampa, Florida, this week at this year’s CPA Practice Advisor Thought Leader Symposium. The annual event brings these professionals together with the leading technology developers serving practicing public accountants to discuss the evolution of technology, practice methods and firm management.

The event is comprised of round table discussions that enable interaction and exploration of various concepts between the vendors, as well as some information about future development that is provided under a non-disclosure agreement. The companies participating in this year’s event include CCH, Thomson Reuters, Intuit and Avalara.

The Symposium also hosts the annual Accounting Hall of Fame Awards reception, now in its fourth year. Prior inductees into the Hall of Fame include Greg LaFollete, CPA.CITP, Randy Johnston, Rick Richardson, CPA.CITP, and L. Gary Boomer, CPA.CITP. A new honoree will be announced on Tuesday evening during a dinner and awards banquet.

“In addition to learning about strategic direction from major publishers, the Thought Leaders Symposium provides time for interacting with other influencers in the profession that is normally not available at other events,” said Randy Johnston. “The ability to have an extended conversation with other professionals to discuss trends, opportunities and concerns in a retreat setting is very valuable. Further, it is a pleasure to see people who have worked hard for the accounting profession recognized by their peers.”

The thought leaders for 2014 are:

  • L. Gary Boomer, CPA.CITP
  • Jim Boomer, CPA.CITP
  • Jim Bourke, CPA.CITP
  • David Cieslak, CPA.CITP
  • Gale Crosley. CPA
  • Chris Frederiksen, CPA.CITP
  • John Higgins, CPA.CITP
  • Tom Hood, CPA.CITP
  • Randy Johnston
  • Roman Kepczyk, CPA.CITP
  • Allan Koltin, CPA
  • Mark Koziel, CPA
  • Greg LaFollette, CPA.CITP
  • Barry Melancon, CPA
  • Edi Osborne
  • Rick Richardson, CPA.CITP
  • M. Darren Root, CPA.CITP
  • Rebecca Ryan, John Sharbaugh, CAE
  • Donny Shimamoto, CPA.CITP
  • Leslie Shiner
  • Doug Sleeter
  • Sandi Smith Leyva, CPA
  • Bob Spencer, Ph.D.
  • Brian Tankersley, CPA.CITP
  • Geni Whitehouse, CPA.CITP
  • Sandra Wiley
  • Jennifer Wilson
  • Troy Waugh