AICPA Announces Recipient of Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award

The American Institute of CPAs recently announced that it has named Alan R. Einhorn, CPA, as the 2012 recipient of the Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award. Edward S. Karl, CPA, Vice President of Taxation for the AICPA, presented the award, which is the highest given by the accounting profession in the area of taxation, at the AICPA’s Fall Tax Division Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Einhorn’s services efforts include volunteering with the Greater Washington Society of CPAs and the AICPA and serving on the IRS Commissioner’s Advisory Group.  He has served as chair for the Tax Forms Committee, Circular 230 Education Task Force, Preparer Penalty Task Force, Tax Executive Committee and the Bar Committee. Einhorn has also received the AICPA Tax Division’s Distinguished Service Award.

Einhorn is currently the Chief Quality Officer for Deloitte Tax LLP and works in various areas, including ethics and professional standards, taxpayer and preparer responsibilities and coordination of tax quality assurance reviews. He represents Deloitte in regulatory and legislative tax matters and is the Vice-Chairman of the Board for Deloitte Tax LLP. Einhorn also serves as a member of the Deloitte Tax LLP Operating Committee.

Einhorn graduated from the University of Maryland with his Bachelor of Science degree in accounting and received his JD from George Washington University.

The Arthur J. Dixon Memorial Award was established after Dixon’s death in 1981 to honor CPAs that excel in the area of taxes. Dixon was a CPA who served the tax profession, the AICPA Tax Division and the AICPA’s Tax Executive Committee as chairman from 1977 to 1980.