Ten Non-Traditional Undergraduate Students Receive AICPA Scholarships

The American Institute of CPAs recently announced that it will award a total of $50,000 in scholarships to ten students with liberal arts and other non-traditional undergraduate degrees that are pursuing graduate accounting degrees.

The recipients of the AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship will each receive $5,000 to cover tuition and other educational expenses as they pursue a graduate accounting decree and CPA license. The scholarships are funded by the AICPA Foundation and were established to honor John L. Carey after he retired from the AICPA in 1969. During his 40 years with the AICPA, Carey was very passionate about encouraging outstanding students to become CPAs.

A selection task force reviews all submitted applications, academic transcripts, recommendation letters and personal essays to choose the ten recipients, based on their academic achievement, leadership and commitment to becoming a licensed CPA. Applicants must be full-time graduate level students during the upcoming academic year.

The 2012-2013 recipients are:
Philip Casey, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Oliver Chase, University of Vermont
Sean Escoffery, University of Texas at Austin
Hannah Franklin, University of Texas at Austin
Rebecca Hu, University of Southern California
Jennifer Millhouse, University of Texas at Austin
Kelsey Short, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Rebecca Stone, Vanderbilt University
Jacob Summerhays, College of William and Mary
Lauren Van Dyke, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

“Education is a journey, not a destination. These deserving students will take lessons from their undergraduate backgrounds and apply them to their graduate accounting studies in a way that will provide a unique perspective which will serve them throughout their professional careers,” said AICPA Foundation President George Krull.

The application deadline for the 2013-2014 AICPA John L. Carey Scholarship is April 1, 2013.